The 28th edition of the Tokyo International Film Festival took place from the 22th until the 31th of October in the great city of Tokyo. This ten day event is the only Japanese film festival accredited by the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF). It started in 1985 and since then it became one of the most important festival in the world. The festival offers the audience a great chance to see the very best film from around the world and bring them the best national productions.

Competition Section

Tokyo Grand Prix

Nise – O Coração da Loucura (Nise – The Heart of Madness) by Roberto Berliner – Brazil | 2015 – 109 min.

Special Jury Prize

Nous Trois ou Rien (All Three of Us) by Kheiron – France | 2015 – 102 min.

Award for Best Director

Mustafa Kara for his film Kalandar Soğuğu (Cold of Kalandar) Turkey, Hungary | 2015 – 139 min.

Award for Best Actress

Gloria Pires for the film Nise – O Coração da Loucura (Nise – The Heart of Madness) by Roberto Berliner – Brazil | 2015 – 109 min.

Award for Best Actor

Roland Moller and Louis Hofman for the film Under Sandet (Land of Mine) by Martin Pieter Zandvliet – Denmark, Germany | 2015 – 106 min.

Award for Best Artistic Contribution

Rodinný film (Family Film) by Olmo Omerzu – Czech Republic, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia | 2015 – 95 min.

Audience Award

Se Dio Vuole (God Willing) by Edoardo Falcone – Italy | 2015 – 87 min.

WOWOW Viewer’s Choice Award

Kalandar Soğuğu by Mustafa Kara (Cold of Kalandar) – Turkey, Hungary | 2015 – 139 min.

Asian Future Section

Best Asian Future Film Award

Maha Samut Lae Susaan (The Island Funeral) by Pimpaka Towira – Thailand | 2015 – 105 min.

The Spirt of Asia Award (Japan Foundation Asia Center)

A Simple Goodbye by Degena Yun – China | 2015 – 100 min.

Japanese Cine Splash Section

Best Picture Award

Ken and Kazu by Hiroshi Shoji – Japan | 2015 – 98 min.

Arigato Award
For honoring their remarkable contributions to the Japanese film industry. We have launched this new award with the expectation that these five stalwarts of Japanese film will continue to be successful and make further contributions to the industry, as well as to increase their international recognition. We have called the award “ArigatŌ” because the word is recognized globally.

Kirin Kiki (Actress) – Akihito Hino (LEVEL-5 Inc. President/CEO) – Suzu Hirose (Actress) – Mamoru Hosoda (Director) – Lily Franky (Illustrator, Novelist, Actor)

Samurai Award
To filmmakers who continues to create groundbreaking films that carve out a path to a new era. Yoji Yamada and John Woo are the recipients of the award this year.

Yoji Yamada (Director) – John Woo (Director)

About Yoji Yamada

Joined Shochiku in 1954 as an assistant director. His directorial debut film is Nikai no Tanin (1961). His works includes “Tora-san” series, Where Spring Comes Late (1970), The Yellow Handkerchief (1977), The Twilight Samurai (2002), About Her Brother (2010), Tokyo Family (2013) and The Little House (2014). Received the Order of Culture in 2012. Haha to Kuraseba and Kazoku wa Tsuraiyo will be released shortly.

About John Woo
Woo started his career as an assistant director at famed Hong Kong studio Shaw Brothers before his directorial debut The Young Dragons in 1973. His film A Better Tomorrow (1986) launched his career as an action film director. Woo continued his success in Hollywood with Broken Arrow in 1996. He returned to Asia to make Red Cliff (2008). His other cutting-edge films include The Killer (1989), Hard Boiled (1992), Face/Off (1997) and Mission: Impossible II (2000) among others. In 2010, Woo was presented with a Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice International Film Festival. His latest film, The Crossing (2014), is a romance spanning half a century of modern Chinese history.