Six months after announcing intentions to double the number of female and minority members in its ranks by 2020, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 683 new members to join the organization. Forty-six percent of new invitees are female and 41 percent ethnic minorities, the Academy said, adding that the roster boasts 28 Oscar winners and 98 nominees. The youngest invitee is 24 and the oldest 91. Here is the list of the Asians included.

Kim Daniel-dae  S. Korea
Lee Byung-hun  S. Korea
Tatsuya Nakadai Japan

Peter Pau China
Poon Hang-Sang China
Nelson Yu Lik-Wai China
Zhao Fei  China

Yoshihito Akatsuka Japan

Hou Hsiao-Hsien China
Naomi Kawase Japan
Kim So-yong  S. Jorea
Kiyoshi Kurosawa Japan
Apichatpong Weerasethakul Thailand
Park Chan-wook S. Korea

Kazuo Hara JApan
Emiko Omori Japan
Trinh T. Minh-ha Vietnam
Jean Tsien Taiwan
Wang Bing China

Shigeru Umebayashi Japan

Albert Lee China

Short Films and Feature Animation
Raman Hui China
Yoshiaki Nishimura  Japan
Daisuke Tsutsumi  Japan
Koji Yamamura Japan
Hiromasa Yonebayashi Japan

Jia Zhangke China
Naomi Kawase Japan
Takeshi Kitano Japan
Hirokazu Koreeda Japan
Lee Chang-dong S. Korea
Park Chan-wook S. Korea

Notice that Takeshi Kitano and Hirokazu Koreeda have been invited just as writers but not as directors, with the opposite occurring with Naomi Kawase and Park Chan-wook.

If there are others I have missed, please let me know.

You May Also Be Interested In


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here