The nominees for the 11th Annual Asian Film Awards were announced last week.

The ceremony is to be held in Hong Kong after a long stint in Macau. The reason for this changeover is to pay homage to the 20th anniversary since the handover of Hong Kong. This year, 34 films received nominations. Out of those 34, 21 are of Chiniese-origin, and 20 are South Korean, making South Korean films the second most nominated.

Some of the best releases of 2016 are up against each other this year. Park Chan Wook’s, “The Handmaiden,” although it did not receive a nod for best film nor best director, it did receive a levy of other nominations including: best supporting actress (Moon So-ri), best newcomer, best screenplay, best editing, best costume design, and best production design. Another strong Korean film up for several awards is “Train to Busan.” This outrageously popular zombie-horror film is up for five categories including: best actor (Gong Yoo), best supporting actor (Ma Dong-seok), best editing, best costume design, and best visual effects.

Poster for “The Handmaiden”

Another standout Chinese film, “I am Not Madame Bovary,” received a lot of attention in the form of nominations for best film, best director, best cinematography, best supporting actress (Fan Bingbing), and best supporting actor (Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng).

Although neither, “Train to Busan,” nor “The Handmaiden,” received nominations for best film, Korean film, “The Wailing” is up against the Japanese film, “Harmonium,” Taiwanese “Godspeed,” and of course China’s “I am not Madame Bovary.”

Still from “Train to Busan”

It will be a tight race for all categories as all film entries are strong, so on March 21, 2017, when the Asian Film Awards air, it will be exciting to see who takes home the wins!

You can see more information on some of the nominations below:

Best Film
The Wailing (South Korea)
The Age of Shadows (South Korea)
Harmonium (Japan)
Godspeed (Taiwan)
I Am Not Madame Bovary (China)

Best Director
Na Hong-jin, The Wailing
Koji Fukada, Harmonium
Derek Tsang, Soul Mate
Feng Xiaogang, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Lav Diaz, The Woman Who Left

Best Actor
Michael Hui, Godspeed
Gong Yoo, Train to Busan
Asano Tadanobu, Harmonium
Fan Wei, Mr. No Problem
Richie Jen, Trivisa


Best Actress
Son Ye-jin, The Last Princess
Fan Bingbing, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Haru Kuroki, A Bride for Rip Van Winkle
Kara Wai, Happiness
Charo Santos-Concio, The Woman Who Left

Best Supporting Actor
Jun Kunimura, The Wailing
Ma Dong-seok, Train to Busan
Ayano Go, Rage
Dong Chengpeng/Da Peng, I Am Not Madame Bovary
Lam Suet, Trivisa

Best Supporting Actress
Elaine Jin, Mad World
Moon So-ri, The Handmaiden
Maeda Atsuko, The Mohican Comes Home
Shabana Azmi, Neerja
Lynn Xiong, See You Tomorrow

(Source: Hollywood Reporter)