We present the winners of the 20th edition of the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) held in Busan, South Korea.

After ten days the Busan International Film Festival (BIFF) have come to an end. The event ran from the 1st until the 10th of October in the beautiful city of Busan, South Korea. This year 302 films from 75 countries were screened in six venues. The catalogue presented 94 world premieres and 31 international premieres. The organizers are very happy as the total attendance reached a new record, during the ten days 227.377 persons assist the different screenings. There were a lot of GVs, outdoor screenings, various Forums and Talks that capture the interest of the people. Once again the festival establish itself as one of the most important film festivals in the region.

BIFF Awards

New Currents Award

Immortal by Hadi Mohaghegh – Iran
Walnut Tree by Yerlan Nurmukhambetov – Kazakhstan

BIFF Mecenat Award

Boys Run by Kang Seokpil – South Korea
Look Love by Ye Yun – China

Special Mention

Still and All by Kim Youngjo – South Korea

Sonje Award

Shame Diary by Lee Eunjeong – South Korea
Nia’s Door by Lau Kek Huat – Taiwan

Actress of the Year

Jang Sun for the film Communication & Lies directed by Lee Seung-Won

Actor of the Year

Lee Ju-Won for the film Alone directed by Park Hong-min


Immortal by Hadi Mohaghegh – Iran


Communication & Lies by Lee Seung-Won – South Korea

Daemyung Culture Wave Award

Overman by Seo Eunyoung – South Korea

KNN Award

Radio Set by Hari Viswanath – India

Busan Bank Award

Highway to Hellas by Aron Lehmann – Germany

Citizen Critic’s Award

Alone by Park Hong-min – South Korea

Busan Cinephile Award

The Other Side by Roberto Minervini – Italy, France

CGV Art-House Award

Eyelids by O Muel – South Korea

DGK (Directors Guild of Korea) Award

The Boys Who Cried Wolf by Kim Jin-hwang- South Korea
Eyelids by O Muel – South Korea

Asian Filmmaker of the Year Award

Studio Ghibli Inc. (Animation Film Studio – Japan)

Korean Cinema Award

Wieland Speck (Berlin International Film Festival Panorama Programmer – Germany)


Asian Project Market Awards
Busan AwardLondon Stories by Hana Makhmalbaf – United Kingdom
Dexter Studios AwardA Means to an End by Yu Lik-wai – China, France
CJ Entertainment AwardBirdshot by Mikhail Red – Philippines, Qatar
Lotte AwardBrother by Kim Tae-yong – South Korea
KOCCA Award The Adventure of Han Meimei by Kim Junghan – China, South Korea
ARTE International PrizeThe Wasted Land by Eddie Cahyono – Indonesia, France
MONEFF AwardUnlosable by CJ Wang – Taiwan

E-IP Market 2015 Awards
New Creator Award – Book to Film
Disappeared the Time 4:10 by Tchue Jong Lim (Think Book)

New Creator Award – E-IP Pitching
The Underdogs by Oh Seongyun, Lee ChunBaek (Odoltogi, Dream Search C&C)